Contact Details

Shrewton CE

Primary School

Powered by love; we believe, achieve, grow


I have for myself, for others and for community.


I am a good friend to everyone.


I can say sorry and show understanding when others make mistakes.


I am friendly and caring in my words and actions.


I don't give up and learn from my mistakes.


I treat others how I wish to be treated.


I am accountable for my actions and make good choices.

Meet the Governors

Academy Standards and Ethos Council (ASEC)


As an Academy governance in the school is undertaken by an Academy Standards and Ethos Council (ASEC) which is directly accountable to the Diocese of Salisbury Academy Trust and will report at least 6 times a year to their Board.


 The main responsibilities of the ASEC are:

  • To establish the strategic direction of the school
  • To ensure high standards of achievement for all pupils
  • To maintain the Christian ethos and distinctiveness of the school


The majority of members are appointed by the Diocese of Salisbury Academy Trust, with the exception of 2 parent members and 1 staff member who are elected by their peers. The ASEC chair is appointed by the Trust board, and the ASEC elect a vice chair annually. The key skills and abilities sought of ASEC members are:


  • An ability and desire to set the Christian ethos within the school
  • Analytical skills and the ability to understand and question written and numerical information
  • The ability to establish good working relationships with all stakeholders including Board Members, DSAT, staff at all levels within school, parents and the wider community
  • The ability to carry out monitoring and evaluation of the work of the school
  • Strong communication skills including listening


All copies of meeting minutes are available on request from the school office.


DSAT Governance Information available at:


The chair of Governors is Mrs Gina Vandeleur and can be contacted via the school office or by email 


The clerk to the governing body is Mrs Sarah Pearce who can be contacted by email




Letter from the Chair of Governors


Welcome to Shrewton Primary School.


I hope this website provides you with useful information and a flavour of our village school.


It is important that as parents, you feel welcome. A good relationship between home and school helps to build a child’s confidence and is a great help in their development as young learners in our school. We value your co-operation, support and involvement as parents for the benefit of our children.


The children at Shrewton have a happy, safe and caring environment in which to learn. We aim to help our children to be confident, sensitive to others, interested in the world around them and to prepare them for the challenges ahead.


School governors are a part of our school community that you may not meet very often as our work mainly takes place in meetings after the normal school day. We are a team of volunteers from many different walks of life and bring many experiences to help the school. We are part of the school to make sure the schools’ performance is evaluated and continuously improves, to provide the strategic direction for the school, to ensure legal obligations are met and that the school keeps abreast with any new initiatives. Most of all we are governors because we care about the school and want it to succeed in giving our young learners’ the best start in their education.


If you would like to hear more about our lovely school please visit the school or contact me via the school office.

I hope your children enjoy their time at Shrewton Primary School.


Gina Vandeleur

Chair of Governors

School Governance 2018 - 2019